Reject All Akufo-Addo’s ministerial nominees – NDC to Minority

Reject All Akufo-Addo’s ministerial nominees – NDC to Minority

Man, 32, electrocuted while removing a canopy, another in critical condition at Nyankyerenease

The National Democratic Congress (NDC) has directed the Minority caucus in Parliament not to approve President Akufo-Addo’s new nomination to various Ministerial positions.

According to the NDC, the call resonates with the many sentiments of Ghanaians for the current administration to reduce the size of government.

“The NDC has long expressed concern over the very large size of the current government and shares the views of most Ghanaians, including Civil Society, that it must be reduced bearing in mind the current massive economic mess, the country has been plunged into by the Akufo-Addo/ Bawumia government.

“Despite numerous appeals, President Akufo Addo has quite characteristically, remained adamant and tone deaf,” the General Secretary of the NDC, Fiifi Kwetey directed in a statement date 19th February 2023 Sunday.

He continued: “The leadership of the NDC, has, against this backdrop, directed the Minority caucus in Parliament NOT to approve any of the new ministerial nominees and to further push for a reduction in the size of government with a view to reducing the needless drain on scarce public resources.”

The NDC General Secretary further stated that with the current moment of the government engaging in economic haircuts, “the most important thing the government can do is to do a “governmental haircut”.

“Our directive to the minority in parliament, we believe strongly aligns with the genuine sentiments of most Ghanaians,” he concluded.


President Nana Akufo-Addo Addo has made new nominations to his government with the nomination of Member of Parliament for Adansi Asokwa, Kwabena Tahir Hammond as Minister-designate for Trade and Industry.

He replaces Alan Kyerematen who resigned to focus on his campaign to be elected the New Patriotic Party Flagbearer.

Brian Acheampong moves to the Ministry of Agriculture as Minister designate. He replaces Dr. Afriyie Akoto who also resigned to pursue his presidential ambition.

Former CEO of the State Interests and Governance Authority, Stephen Asamoah Boateng has been nominated as Minister-designate for Chieftaincy and Religious Affairs. He replaces Hon. Kojo Kum who resigned last week.

Mohammed Amin Ada, a former Deputy Energy Minister has been nominated Minister designate – Minster of state at Finance Ministry. He replaces Charles Adu Boahen.

Osei Bonsu Amoah has been elevated as Minster of state at Local Government Ministry, whereas Hebert Krapah has been nominated as Deputy Energy Minister.

Member of Parliament for Nhyiaeso, Dr Stephen Amoah has been nominated Deputy Minister-designate for Trade and Industry.

The nominees will be vetted and approved by Parliament on a date yet to be communicated.

SAD: Again, 3 Police Officers Killed After Hoodlums Attacked Station

Filasco News

Filasco DeGeneral: Broadcast journalist: #0245405110# for your publications. GOD is my helper💯

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button